Present: Jane Powers, Supervisor

Julian "Olla" Filiatrault

Shawn Spellacy, Highway Superintendent

Councilpersons: Roger Murray

John Glasgow

Chad VanBrocklin

Meeting attendees/Public: Mercy Spellacy;

Organizational Meeting 2023, 7:00PM. Supervisor Jane Powers called the Organizational Meeting to order.

Pledge of Allegiance

Motion made by Roger Murray, seconded by John Glasgow, all in favor, to make the following appointments for the **Year 2023** and to remove the Zoning Board of Appeals Chairperson. Motion carried.

Motion made by Roger Murray, seconded by John Glasgow to approve payment as a vouchered for Attorney Roger Linden. All voted. None opposed. Motion carried.

APPOINTMENTS:

Deputy Supervisor Roger Murray

Deputy Highway Superintendent Laurie Hance

Administrative Assistant-Supervisor Laurie Hance

Administrative Assistant-Highway Supt. Laurie Hance

Administrative Assistant-Justice Laurie Hance

Budget Officer Laurie Hance

Deputy Town Clerk Angela Wright

Dog Control Officer Donna Gilbert

Custodian (Buildings) Mercy Spellacy

Custodian (Grounds/Trash Removal) Patrick Regan

Historian Barbara Daniels

Registrar Julian "Olla" Filiatrault

Code Enforcement Officer Darren Richards

Attorney Roger Linden

Planning Board Chairperson Pierre Pomainville

Zoning Board of Appeals Chairperson -

Board of Assessment Review Chairperson William Hoyt

LIST OF ZONING BOARD OF APPEALS & PLANNING BOARD FOR RECORD--

ZONING BOARD OF APPEALS (FIVE-YEAR APPOINTMENTS)

MEMBER	APPT EXPIRES	NEEDS REAPPT.
William Enslow	12-31-2024	1-2025
Peter Wyckoff	12-31-2023	1-2024
Jamie VanBrocklin	12-31-2027	1-2028
Robert Dowman	12-31-2025	1-2026
Lillie Barr	12-31-2026	1-2027
*Vacant(alternate)	12-31-2023	1-2024

Motion by Roger Muray, seconded by John Glasgow, all in favor, to reappoint Jamie VanBrocklin to a five-year term to the Zoning Board, term expiring on 12/31/2027.

PLANNING BOARD (FIVE-YEAR APPOINTMENTS)

MEMBER	APPT EXPIRES	NEEDS REAPPT.
Pierre Pomainville (Chairperson)	12-31-2024	1-2025
Rick Brewer	12-31-2027	1-2028
Randy Camp	12-31-2025	1-2026
Justin Planty	12-31-2023	1-2024
William Peter Whalen	12-31-2026	1-2027

Clay Streit (Alternate)

Motion by Chad VanBrocklin, seconded by Roger Murray, all in favor, to reappoint Rick Brewer to a five-year term to the Planning Board, term expiring on 12/31/2027. Motion carried.

Motion by John Glasgow, seconded by Chad VanBrocklin, all in favor, to appoint Clay Streit as an alternate to a one- year term to the Planning Board, term expiring on 12/31/2023. Motion carried.

LIST OF BAR MEMBERS FOR RECORD--

BOARD OF ASSESSMENT REVIEW 5-YEAR APPOINTMENTS

APPT EXPIRES DATE RE		REAPPOINTED	
William Hoyt, Jr (Chairman)	9-30-2025	10-1-2025	
Robert Pinkerton	9-30-2023	10-1-2023	
Tabitha McCuen	9-30-2025	10-1-2025	
Jamie VanBrocklin	9-30-2027	10-1-2027	
Anna Green	9-30-2024	10-1-2024	

SALARIES FOR ELECTED OFFICIALS FOR YEAR 2023

Supervisor	\$16.008.00
Town Clerk/Tax Collector	\$42,900.00
Councilmen (4 @ \$5,662.00)	\$22.650.00
Superintendent of Highways	\$72,800.00
Justice	\$25,800.00

Motion by Roger Murray, seconded by John Glasgow, all in favor, to designate the following bank accounts for Town Officials for 2023. Non opposed. Motion carried.

OFFICIAL	2023 BANK LIST
Supervisor	NBT Bank, NA
Town Clerk	NBT Bank, NA
Tax Collector	NBT Bank, NA
Town Justice	NBT Bank, NA

- A motion made by Chad VanBrocklin, seconded by Roger Murray to review and adopt the **Procurement Policy for 2023.** All voted. None opposed. Motion carried
- A motion made by Chad VanBrocklin, seconded by John Glasgow to review and adopt the Workplace violence/ Sexual Harassment Prevention Policy for 2023. All voted. None opposed. Motion carried.
- A motion made by Roger Murray, seconded by Chad VanBrocklin to review and adopt the Ethics Policy For Purchasing for 2023. All voted. None opposed. Motion carried.
- A motion made by Chad VanBrocklin, seconded by John Glasgow to adopt an **Investment Policy for 2023.** All voted. None opposed. Motion carried.
- A motion made by John Glasgow, seconded by Roger Murray to adopt a **Records Management Policy for 2023.** All voted. None opposed. Motion carried.
- A motion made by Chad VanBrocklin, seconded by John Glasgow to adopt RESOLUTION #II-2023, To Authorize The Acceptance And Adoption Of The Multi-jurisdictional Hazard Mitigation Plan Update For St. Lawrence County, New York. All voted. None opposed. Motion carried

Motion by Roger Murray, seconded by John Glasgow, all in favor, to approve the **Salaries for Appointed Personnel for Year 2023** follows:

SALARIES FOR APPOINTED PERSONNEL FOR YEAR 2023

Deputy Town Clerk	\$18.00	per hour up to \$7,500.00 per yr.
Registrar of Vital Statistics	\$250.00	per year
Board of Assessment Review		
-Chairman	\$200.00	per year (+ \$50 per mtg for any extra mtgs)
-Members (4)	\$150.00	per year (+ \$30 per mtg for any extra mtgs)
Adm. Assistant - Supervisor	\$25,925.00	per year
- Highway Supt.	\$20,000.00	per year
-Justice	\$23,000.00	per year
Dog Control Officer	\$30.00	per call + mileage
Code Enforcement Officer	\$15,080.00	per year
Assessor	\$25,728.00	per year
Custodian -Buildings	\$ 4,536.00	per year

-Grounds/Trash Rem.	\$ 4,140.00	per year
Historian	\$925.00	per year
Zoning Board Chairperson	\$50.00	per hearing
Zoning Board Secretary	\$40.00	per hearing
Zoning Board Members	\$30.00	per hearing
Planning Board Chairperson	\$50.00	per meeting
Planning Board Secretary	\$40.00	per meeting
Planning Board Members	\$30.00	per meeting

Motion by Chad VanBrocklin, seconded by John Glasgow, all in favor, to approve mileage for personal vehicles utilized for town business (for outside of the Town of Pierrepont) for **2023 \$.50 per mile.**

Motion by John Glasgow, seconded by Roger Murray, all in favor, to approve the official newspaper for **2023** as the **Watertown Daily Times**, **Watertown**, **NY**.

Motion by John Glasgow, seconded by Chad VanBrocklin, all in favor, to approve the Regular Town Board meetings for 2023 7:00 PM on the **LAST** Tuesday of every month.

Motion by Roger Murray, seconded by Chad VanBrocklin, all in favor, to approve the **Second Notice Fee for 2023 axes at \$1.00.**

Motion by John Glasgow, seconded by Chad VanBrocklin, all in favor, to appoint 2 board members to audit books for 2022 each department, including supervisor, town clerk, and court.

- Supervisor's books will be audited by Roger Murray and John Glasgow
- **Town Clerk's books** will be audited by Roger Murray and Chad VanBrocklin
- **Justice's books** will be audited by Roger Murray and Dan Huntley.

Motion by Roger Murray, seconded by Chad VanBrocklin, all in favor, to adopt **Rescue Contracts for the YEAR 2023** as follows:

COLTON RESCUE	\$7,350.00
LIFE FLIGHT (Res. #I:2023)	\$ 825.00
POTSDAM RESCUE	\$3,340.00

Motion by Chad VanBrocklin, seconded by Roger Murray, all in favor, to adopt **Fire Protection Contracts for the YEAR 2023** as follows:

PIERREPONT VOLUNTEER FIRE DEPARTMENT, INC. \$82,000.00

HANNAWA FALLS VOLUNTEER FIRE DEPARTMENT, INC. \$82,000.00

Motion by John Glasgow, seconded by Chad VanBrocklin, all in favor, to adopt the ST. LAWRENCE COUNTY COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT PROGRAM, INC contract for 2023

SLC COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT PROGRAM, INC. \$7,500.00

Motion by Roger Murray, seconded by John Glasgow, all in favor, to adopt the POTSDAM HUMANE SOCIETY contract for 2023

POTSDAM HUMANE SOCIETY

\$1,800.00

Contracts were signed by Supervisor Jane B. Powers and Town Board Members.

Additional: Update on Brooks Washburn by Roger Murray

Update on Colton-Pierrepont Raqueteers group by Roger Murray

ADJOURNMENT:

Motion to adjourn meeting at 7:42PM. Motion made by John Glasgow, second by Roger Murray. All voted to approve. None opposed.

Meeting minutes prepared by Town Clerk, Julian "Olla" Filiatrault.